Bethesda announces a World Championships for Quake.


During Bethesda’s 2017 E3 press conference, the company announced that their currently-in-beta game, Quake Champions, will have a $1,000,000 prize pool world championship eSports circuit after release. The original eSport, Quake Champions like the Quake games before it is a fast paced arena shooter filled with blood and gore. It looks as though it is shaping up to be exactly what we’d all hoped for.

ESL has teamed up with the developer and publisher of Quake Champions, ID software, and Bethesda Softworks, to produce the Quake World Championships with few details available just yet. The first competition finals will take place during QuakeCon which is from August 24-27 in Dallas, Texas. There will be a duel and team competitions, with regional qualifiers taking place prior to QuakeCon all over the world. The game is playable at E3 currently and you can sign up to receive a beta key for the game at During this E3 week, competitors and developers will be showing off this game while also discussing its future and of course the championship series.

With the old Quake games being the original eSport and the first to host LAN events, it is only fitting that the revival of Quake take to the stage once again to hopefully revitalize the classic FPS as one of today’s biggest eSports. The world of streaming, broadcasting, and all around interest in eSports has increased tenfold since the time of the originals, so you can expect this one to take off quite a bit. Quake Champions is due out sometime this year.


Previous articleSunny In Phoenix: Episode 73
Next articleUSMNT vs. Mexico: Post Match Analysis
Tim Harding is a hockey and video game enthusiast. Watching and participating in hockey and eSports takes up most of his free time. A lover of all things hockey, he enjoys watching any team and any player who is entertaining to watch, but will always be a diehard supporter of the Philadelphia Flyers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here