NASCAR prepares for The Clash


The Clash will be running this Sunday and will take place after Daytona 500 pole qualifying. This event is equivalent to the NFL’s preseason. It will give you taste, but you’ll have to wait another week to get the full meal. The race will consist of 17 of the 20 drivers eligible for the race, with Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Matt Kenseth not participating due to retirement and Danica Patrick is only running the Daytona 500, so she won’t be in the race. The race will be 75 laps divide into two segments. The first segment will be 25 laps and the second segment will be 50 laps. The winner of the race gets a nice cash prize, so everyone will have a “win or go home” attitude towards the event, which creates some exciting racing. Drivers who have a 2017 pole, former Clash race winners, former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in the 2017 season and drives who qualified for the 2017 playoffs are eligible for this event.
Like I’ve stated in a previous article, I think Kevin Harvick will pull off the victory this weekend due to his success in the past. One more win and he’ll be second all-time for wins in this event. We’ll get to see how the new Chevy bodies perform compared to the Toyota’s and Ford’s. But it will just be a preview as I don’t think the race is long enough to form any strong opinions. The race will be on February 11th and start at 3 pm ET. The race will be on Fox Sports One. The entry list for the Clash looks like:

Jamie McMurray- Made playoffs
Brad Keselowski- Won two Poles
Austin Dillon- Made Playoffs
Kevin Harvick- Won four poles
Chase Elliott- Won one pole
Denny Hamlin- Won two poles
Ryan Blaney- Won two poles
Ricky Stenhouse Jr.- Won one pole
Kyle Busch- Won eight poles
Erik Jones- Won one pole
Joey Logano- Won two poles
Ryan Newman- Made playoffs
Kurt Busch- Won one pole
Kyle Larson- Won three poles
Jimmie Johnson- Made Playoffs
Martin Truex Jr.- Won three poles
Kasey Kahne- Made playoffs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here